Buying a rental car.. Any new experience?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
BogleMelon

Buying a rental car.. Any new experience?

Post by BogleMelon »

I used the search box in this forum and almost read every thread about buying a car from a rental company. I am curious to see if there are any members here who did it recently, and how was their experience.

Also, I am considering Hertz as a first option, they have 2 programs: rent2buy and Certified. In terms of warranty, is there any difference? I called the 800 number, and a lady confirmed they both have 12 mo / 12K mi warranty, but I have some doubts about her knowledge, specially that in another forum (but old thread) it was mentioned that the r2b program is only 2 mo / 2K mi. (I tried to find out the answer in their website, but it is not clear)

Another thing, do they take credit card as a payment? or it has to be a wire transfer? and what about a cashier check or a ACH transfer?

Thanks!
"One of the funny things about stock market, every time one is buying another is selling, and both think they are astute" - William Feather
bloom2708

Re: Buying a rental car.. Any new experience?

Post by bloom2708 »

Try searching for "rental car purchase" in the search box. I found several threads about purchases over the past few years. You maybe read all of them. But you might hit one you didn't read.

Here is one:

viewtopic.php?t=153408

Do you know what make/model you want or do you have a pool of cars?