Audi Q7 Reliability

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
corn18

Audi Q7 Reliability

Post by corn18 »

I was thinking of surprising my wife with a new car. She has a 2011 Acura MDX that has been flawless, but I can tell she is getting the new car itch. We looked at SUV's a while back and she liked the Lexus RX350 and the Audi Q7, but she said she thought it was stupid to spend $70k on a Q7 (the RX350 is ONLY $55k). Well, that's where I come in. I'm stupid. I will get her the Q7.

Only concern I have is the maintenance cost of an Audi and reliability. I have no experience with Audi. The MDX was not expensive to maintain. It has had no issues. I would get her another MDX, but I can tell she would like something different. I drive an Acura TLX and it is also flawless so far.

Any feedback from the BH nation?

Thanks, Corn
Don't do something, just stand there!
LarryAllen

Re: Audi Q7 Reliability

Post by LarryAllen »

Super reliable... as far as German cars go. Lol.

I think you know the answer really depends on what you are looking for.

Go Acura, Lexus, etc... for the highest chance of reliability.

Go Audi, BMW, etc... for decent reliability and maybe some great feeling you get driving it that makes it worth the added reliability risk.

I am doing the same song and dance with sporty sedans... BMW M3 or Lexus/Infiniti/etc.........
slowbutsteady

Post by slowbutsteady »

5th year and about 60k on our Q7. Overall, reliable.

Only issue we had was ac/cooling fans went weak about 45k and was covered by warantee. All other items are standard/well known. Eg engine oil needs topping about once between service, and those large break pads needs replacement every 25 -30k. And yes, services are more expensive than Japanese SUVs (we had a Honda Pilot prior to the Audi).

Audi will be in my consideration set when I go car shopping in the future.