Pet insurance for new puppy

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
pochax

Pet insurance for new puppy

Post by pochax » Wed Feb 01, 2017 7:16 pm

We are about to get a new puppy in the coming weeks for our family. i am new to this whole dog ownership thing and am wondering if there are bogleheads who recommend getting pet insurance and if so, what is the best approach? is there a boglehead's guide to pet insurance reference out there? i don't want to get suckered into insurance propaganda/websites and would rather have the most objective way to make the decision. thanks for any advice.

willthrill81

Re: Pet insurance for new puppy

Post by willthrill81 » Wed Feb 01, 2017 7:27 pm

pochax wrote:We are about to get a new puppy in the coming weeks for our family. i am new to this whole dog ownership thing and am wondering if there are bogleheads who recommend getting pet insurance and if so, what is the best approach? is there a boglehead's guide to pet insurance reference out there? i don't want to get suckered into insurance propaganda/websites and would rather have the most objective way to make the decision. thanks for any advice.
Insurance is to cover losses that would be financially detrimental to you if they occurred.

Forego the pet insurance and save what you would have spent on premiums in some kind of sub-account, cash in an envelope, etc. Odds are high that you'll be better off that way.
“It's a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don't keep your feet, there's no knowing where you might be swept off to.” J.R.R. Tolkien,The Lord of the Rings

mhalley

Post by mhalley » Wed Feb 01, 2017 7:30 pm