Portland or Dallas (Southlake area)

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
gujm

Portland or Dallas (Southlake area)

Post by gujm » Wed Nov 16, 2016 9:08 pm

Big THANKS to so many people here on this forum.

I am a physician and have seeked advice about a private practice in Las Vegas on this forum. Thank you all, I decided to move on and not join the practice.

I am conflicted between Portland (we love vegan food) and Southlake (love the schools). Any advice for either place- Financially which is better (seems like Dallas).

Also, any good advice to a new physician starting work to get on a path to financial freedom.

Thank you all.

coalcracker

Re: Portland or Dallas (Southlake area)

Post by coalcracker » Wed Nov 16, 2016 9:18 pm

Second question is easy: http://www.whitecoatinvestor.com. Spend a few weeks reading there, or buy Jim's book (it's great).

I have spent several weeks in the Southlake area visiting my brother-in-law (he lives in Colleyville). It is wealthy suburbia with a Texas twist. Expect to drive everywhere, for better or worse. One positive is that the shopping, grocery stores, gyms, etc. have everything you could ever need within 10 minutes, and because there's a lot of money there, the options are quite nice. Another tidbit that might give you an idea of the "culture" there: my sister-in-law was 1 of only 2 women in her community who did NOT have plastic surgery after having children (they call it the "mommy makover", including a breast augmentation and tummy tuck).