Moving Seattle -> Madison?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
tevenian

Moving Seattle -> Madison?

Post by tevenian » Sat Jul 02, 2016 6:51 pm

Hi all,

I'm an engineer in my 20s in the Seattle area; I'm thinking of moving to Madison, WI to work with a different group at my current company. The group in Madison is closely affiliated with the University and does exciting work, so I'm trying to decide whether to move or not.

1. Personal finance things - nerdwallet.com's simple cost of living calculator claims Madison has a ~12% lower cost-of-living. (A big part of that seems to be from housing). Rents in Madison proper seem to be a fair bit lower than Seattle....

OTOH Wisconsin has a state income tax, Washington does not.

2. I'm a pretty outdoorsy person (trail running, road biking, camping). Seattle/Washington are great for these things -- anyone have any idea how Madison/WI fare?
Seattle has Mount Rainier / ONP within ~100 miles. How do the UP/Nicolette NF (>200 miles) compare?

3. Madison is smaller than Seattle, particularly when the surrounding are considered.
Is there anything like Seattle's coffeeshop/cafe culture?
Do folks have to go out to Milwaukee or Minneapolis for Big City Things?

4. Anything I should know or look into before deciding?

Thank you!

bstevlin

Re: Moving Seattle -> Madison?

Post by bstevlin » Sat Jul 02, 2016 7:24 pm