Best Saw Blade to Purchase for this DIY

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
BHUser27

Best Saw Blade to Purchase for this DIY

Post by BHUser27 »

Greetings All -

I am looking for responses from Bogleheads with carpentry experience.
I am going to be re-building the stair railing (oak) and balusters (going from wood to iron) in our split-foyer.
I need to make precision angle cuts on the hardwood (oak) railings and to cut the decorative "bobble" off the top of the existing newel posts.
I have done some simple wood projects, but nothing this precision and with high quality (hard) oak before.
I am an engineer and capable of measuring & calculating angles and building jigs as needed.
I have already created a scale drawing of the project & ordered parts.
I have access to all the needed tools.

My question is a simple one. I will be using a quality handheld Dewalt 7-1/4" Pro circular saw to cut-off the post decorations (turning existing posts into craftsman style). I have a homemade jig in mind to help guide the cuts. What is the best blade for me to purchase to make sure I get very clean precise cuts through the oak without splintering? Any recommendations appreciated - number of teeth, blade type, where to purchase, blade brand, etc.

Thanks!
Ged

Re: Best Saw Blade to Purchase for this DIY

Post by Ged »

You want a miter saw blade. That means about 80 TPI to 100 TPI. Good brands are Tenryu, Forrest and Freud.

Also have you considered the depth of the cut you are going to need? Cutting at a compound angle will dramatically increase the depth you need. I would not be surprised that the angles you are going to need will result in needing cuts too deep for your hand held saw. Professionals often bring 10"-12" miter saws to a job like you plan.
The Wizard

Post by The Wizard »

Yes, get a 12" compound miter saw first.