Mitsubishi ductless heating/cooling unit

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
bengal22

Mitsubishi ductless heating/cooling unit

Post by bengal22 » Sat Apr 16, 2016 11:45 am

I have a basement that unfortunately is finished and not easily adapted for adding registars and return vent. Has anyone had any experience with a Mitsubishi One Zone ductless system?
"Earn All You Can; Give All You Can; Save All You Can." .... John Wesley

Sunsphere82

Re: Mitsubishi ductless heating/cooling unit

Post by Sunsphere82 » Sat Apr 16, 2016 6:50 pm

I have some experience with the Mitsubishi Mr. Slim. It is a great unit but, with any of these Japanese mini split systems, you must know 2 things:
1) the unit MUST be sized properly. MUST.
2) 99% of the heat and air guys and gals in any given area haven't the foggiest idea how to size one of these units nor even how they work. Yes, the mini split is a heat pump, but it is as different from the heat pump these guys know as a college student's Apple computer is from an old dormitory typewriter.

The good news is that Mitsubishi is very good to work with. I'd suggest measuring the room (20x15 or whatever) and giving them a call. They should be able to walk you through some basic manual J load info and suggest a unit combo for your geographic region.

cookieid

Post by cookieid » Sat Apr 16, 2016 7:59 pm

I plan to have a house built and the HVAC guy suggested ductless heat pump. How well does it remove the moisture? ventilation? Are there any cons?

jebmke

Post by jebmke » Sat Apr 16, 2016 8:11 pm

Sunsphere82 wrote:I have some experience with the Mitsubishi Mr. Slim. It is a great unit but, with any of these Japanese mini split systems, you must know 2 things:
1) the unit MUST be sized properly. MUST.