Air duct cleaning estimate - too high?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
matonplayer

Air duct cleaning estimate - too high?

Post by matonplayer » Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:29 am

Just received a quote for air duct cleaning from a supposedly reliable service provider - does this seem reasonable?

$550 per HVAC unit X 2 units - $1100
Clean blower motor and assembly X2 - $150
Clean evaporator coil X2 - $150

Total $1400.

We recently had major renovations done to our house - lots of drywall dust - so I believe that a cleaning is probably a good idea.

edge

Re: Air duct cleaning estimate - too high?

Post by edge » Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:31 am

Seems high to me but TBH I've never done that before. It is not clear to me why they would charge 550$ per HVAC unit. I thought they were cleaning ducts...

JoinToday

Post by JoinToday » Thu Dec 10, 2015 12:09 pm

Why do you get your ducts cleaned? Seems like a money making scam to me. Kind of like replacing your muffler bearings or getting them greased every few years.

I hate to expose my ignorance (or lack of cleanliness), but I have never had my ducts cleaned in 30 years. I would worry that a duct connection would come loose in the cleaning process, and then all the hot air would blow into the attic. Note: Probably worth cleaning your evaporator coils, especially if you have dogs or cats. My heater fan still looks good. 20 years old, but we don't need to run it all the time.

If there is dirt or dust in the ducts that is coming loose, it will come out the first day of the season when you turn on the heater (or AC). If it is stuck in there & isn't coming out.... well, it isn't coming out, don't worry about it.

I would rather spend that money on a whole house air cleaner or a few portable air cleaners & run them for as needed/desired.
I wish I had learned about index funds 25 years ago

greg24