Is a car warranty package worth it?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
chapter2

Is a car warranty package worth it?

Post by chapter2 »

This is my first time post and I am very happy to have found this site. My friend and I live in the southwest.

My friend bought a brand new 2016 Subaru Outback from a dealer. The dealer also sold her a warranty package for $1800.
This "Gold Package" includes mostly all replacement parts as they age and tires are included. She lives close to work and only expects to put on 5K miles per year. The inconvenient part is the dealer is about an hour's drive away. My friend shopped at the nearby Subaru dealer, but the sales people were quite rude and decided to take her business elsewhere. Presently, she has about 200 miles on the car and can still cancel the warranty package at the end of the month.

Thanks in advance. :happy
Tycoon

Re: Is a car warranty package worth it?

Post by Tycoon »

Cancel it.
Emotionless, prognostication free investing. Ignoring the noise and economists since 1979. Getting rich off of "smart people's" behavioral mistakes.
DrippingSprings

Post by DrippingSprings »

Yup. Cancel it.
southbay

Post by southbay »

Cancel it.

This is a high margin product for a reason.
denovo

Post by denovo »

I don't know enough about the product but a rule of thumb that works 100 percent of the time is that extended warranties and insurance products on consumer goods are never in your interest. Only insure things that will send you into the poorhouse if they break.
"Don't trust everything you read on the Internet"- Abraham Lincoln
cheese_breath

Post by cheese_breath »

Another vote for cancel it. The only people who have any luck with these things are the people who sell them.
The surest way to know the future is when it becomes the past.
goodlifer

Post by goodlifer »