Mattress Run: Was it stupid?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
VictoriaF

Mattress Run: Was it stupid?

Post by VictoriaF » Sun Oct 04, 2015 8:52 am

Yesterday, I have conducted an experiment that in retrospect seems stupid. Now I am curious just how stupid it was.

I am a novice in accumulating miles and points for travel, and so far I was focusing primarily on getting free Economy flights. However, I thought I should try my hand in hotels, too. In December I will be staying at a Marriott for 6 nights at $200/night (plus tax). I went to the Marriott web site and found that they are now offering Megabonus that gives double points starting with the second stay. To make my expensive December stay the second stay, I needed the first stay. I found a Marriott hotel within walking distance where I could stay for $109/night ($123 including tax) and checked in.

After the deed was done, I started getting a gnawing feeling that the point of the points is to have free stays, not to pay for unnecessary stays. I checked some blogs and it appears that Marriott points are valued at about 1 cent/point. By qualifying for the Megabonus, I will get 1,200 additional Marriott points for the December stay, which is equivalent to $12. It appears that I have spent $123 to get $12.

What's done is done. However, I'd like to get feedback if this was as stupid as it now appears to me. I'll use it as a lesson.

Thanks!
Victoria
Last edited by VictoriaF on Sun Oct 04, 2015 6:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
WINNER of the 2015 Boglehead Contest. | Every joke has a bit of a joke. ... The rest is the truth. (Marat F)

BlueCollarLawyer

Re: Manufactured spending: Was it stupid?

Post by BlueCollarLawyer » Sun Oct 04, 2015 9:01 am