Dress Shirts: Off The Rack + Tailored Or Made to Measure

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
roninmedia

Dress Shirts: Off The Rack + Tailored Or Made to Measure

Post by roninmedia » Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:12 pm

I work as a pharmacist in an office setting where the dress code is business casual. I have not had to wear a suit or tie at work. But I recently ran into an issue as I was purchasing a dress shirt to wear along with a suit for my sister's wedding.

I can't seem to find any dress shirts that fit me off the rack. I need a shirt to accommodate what is a large neck but when this occurs, the dress shirt is huge around my waist.

Collar: 17
Sleeves: 32/33
Chest: 40
Waist: 31

What do Bogleheads recommend for those who don't fit well into dress shirts off the rack? I see the forum posting for Charles Tywitt and their "super slim" that has a 17" neck comes with a 47.25" chest and a 44.25" waist.
Last edited by roninmedia on Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:23 pm, edited 2 times in total.

IndexBeliever

Re: Dress Shirts: Off The Rack + Tailored Or Made to Measure

Post by IndexBeliever » Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:19 pm

Have you tried on a "slim fit" shirt? These are great for all the excess shirtage around the waist.

nanoanalyzer

Post by nanoanalyzer » Wed Jun 17, 2015 9:42 am

Yes, pay close attention to the cut. The "regular" or "classic" shirts tend to be tents. The "fitted" are a hipster's dream shirt. Not sure how well-fed, healthy men are supposed to fit in those. Anyway, these are the two most popular cuts on the shelf.

The "slim fit" is in-between "classic" and "fitted". It is very hard to find and also varies in cut by the brand. However, this is the cut most healthy men should be wearing.

17 32/33 is also very hard to find.