How does one increase their typing speed and accuracy?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
mr_scaramanga

How does one increase their typing speed and accuracy?

Post by mr_scaramanga » Thu Feb 26, 2015 3:33 pm

I'm in my 30's and have worked with computers practically my whole life and I'm almost embarrassed to say I am a very mediocre typist. My typing style is kind of a hybrid of touch-typing and hunt and peck. Some words I can type without looking at the keyboard, but from time to time, I need to look down and reset my fingers on the keys.

I've been a software engineer for many years. I've earned two Master's degrees where I've had to write long thesis papers and yet I really haven't improved much. My worry is that it's affecting my productivity.

Some of my colleagues just explode on keyboards. My typing technique can't compare to them and it's somewhat obvious.

So, I'm interested in opinions of people who are good typists - especially people who've improved later in life. Were there any techniques or teaching products that were particularly helpful? I've tried Mavis Beacon in the past, but just lost interest when I stopped improving. I'm somewhat worried that I just have poor coordination and may never really improve.

For some reason, both my grade school and high school never offered a keyboarding class. Both schools weren't really tech savvy and didn't offer any kind of computer class/education. Some of the good typists I know had computer classes where they learned keyboarding in grade school.

Thank for any suggestions.

anil686

Re: How does one increase their typing speed and accuracy?

Post by anil686 » Thu Feb 26, 2015 3:37 pm