Paperless Office?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
TP81

Paperless Office?

Post by TP81 » Fri Feb 06, 2015 11:17 am

I am trying to de-clutter my home office. Just need to get rid of various paper (i.e. receipts, old paperwork, etc.) both business and personal. I have been looking at scanners and external hard drives. Not really into cloud storage right now. I am not very tech savvy but can usually work my way through things.

Any suggestions on the best way to go about this?

Any recommendations for the hardware? I have a MacBook Air (less than a year old).

Thanks

Hayden

Re: Paperless Office?

Post by Hayden » Fri Feb 06, 2015 11:23 am

A few years ago, I bought a printer/scanner with an excellent automatic document feeder. I can put in an old 50 page tax return, and it scans it perfectly. I highly recommend a good document feeder on whatever scanner you buy.

neurosphere

Post by neurosphere » Fri Feb 06, 2015 11:37 am

I've been using a Fuji Scansnap for years and love it. A document comes in, I scan it, then shred the document. Does color, double sided, dozens of pages at once, runs fast enough for my needs. I'm sure there are other brands available which work equally well.

I back up my internal hard drive to an external drive with RAID, and then also backup to the cloud.

Newer versions of he scansnap are wireless and USB 3: http://www.fujitsu.com/us/products/comp ... index.html

rob

Post by rob » Fri Feb 06, 2015 11:39 am

- Sign up for edelivery to stop the bleeding.... sometimes doing that will get you electronic copied of past cred card stmts etc. Download those and junk the paper equal.
- Download and use cute pdf or similar so you can print directly to a .pdf format and start doing that for stuff you used to print.
- Buy a decent shredder :-)
| Rob | Its a dangerous business going out your front door. - J.R.R.Tolkien

Toons