Shoes for Plantar Fasciitis?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
dbCooperAir

Shoes for Plantar Fasciitis?

Post by dbCooperAir » Mon Oct 20, 2014 11:02 am

I have been battling Plantar Fasciitis for a few months now, its getting better so that's a good thing.

I bought a pair of New Balance Walking Shoes (model# mw928wt) and added an insert, as noted above its getting better so don't want to complain to much but..........

I did not think the New Balance shoes held up that well for the dollar spent, they run about $124/pair and I would say I'm going to be lucky to get 3 month out of them. To be fair I am hard on shoes, about 25 miles per week walking + all other daily activity (I sit for work). I will be lucky to get 300miles out of the current pair, not as good as some other shoes I have used in the past.

I think I understand what a good shoe is for Plantar Fasciitis, a box that does not collapse, shoe that does not twist, more stiff, etc.

I checked out 3 other manufactures and found a shoe made by Rockport that looks to be a good contender, sorry I failed to write down the model # but they are half the $ of the New Balance shoes. If the current New Balance shoe was made in the USA like many of the other New Balance shoes I would be more willing to spend a few more dollars.

Anybody else deal with Plantar Fasciitis and have a shoe that has worked for them?

I also walk all winter so will need too find a good hiking/mid height shoe as well.
Neither a wise man nor a brave man lies down on the tracks of history to wait for the train of the future to run over him. | -Dwight D. Eisenhower-

TFinator

Re: Shoes for Plantar Fasciitis?

Post by TFinator » Mon Oct 20, 2014 11:16 am

I don't have direct experience with Plantar Fasciitis, but if you have a RoadRunner Sports in your area, they are worth a look. I think they do a great job of picking out a good shoe for you.