College Competition [locked]

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
ThatGuy

College Competition [locked]

Post by ThatGuy »

Yesterday I was looking over a local rag, and came upon a new feature where they profile outstanding graduating seniors at some of our high schools. This first edition focused on one of several high schools in the area, but this is a school that receives a state rank of 8 out of 10 in California.

Anyways, the two co-salutatorians managed to accrue overall GPAs of 4.337 and 4.333, with the two co-valedictorians managing 4.357 and 4.280. They all have hundreds of hours of community service listed, as well as participation in several clubs apiece, to include math, physics, and robotics clubs.

All four students were rejected, not even waitlisted, from UC Berkeley. This puzzles me, as my high school, when I graduated within the past couple of decades, managed to send multiple students to every cream of the crop school, and yet their API score is not drastically higher than this local high school.

There was also a recent story over Stanford only accepting 5% of applicants.

So, I'm looking for information on why four top students would all be rejected from UC Berkeley. I could understand it if two out of the four were rejected, but all four? Have admissions gotten that competitive? Do the UCs take into account school name to a great extent? I had always thought as long as you have a solid GPA and your school isn't in the bottom 10%, you would have a reasonable chance of getting in to a UC.

The high school my toddler would eventually attend does have access to Naviance, but I can't get access that until he's actually a student. Does anyone know how to get a general login, or just general data on this sort of thing?