Dating, Gender, & Wealth Differences...

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Cautious Optimist

Dating, Gender, & Wealth Differences...

Post by Cautious Optimist » Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:51 am

Hi all. I am a male, mid 40's, living in the NYC area and on the dating scene. Needless to say many of the women I come across are (on paper at least) seemingly much more financially heeled than I. For example they work as lawyers, corporate, finance, etc. and many often own homes in NYC, typically condos. While I am not a pauper (I'm a university professor and a renter) I'm not in that league.

I realize the times we live in are such that women very commonly out earn men, but I struggle with the idea that this won't be a problem (I'm a recovering hopeless romantic). I'll add that these women reach out to me (I'm on a dating website) but in the past I have ruled myself out for these reasons.

My question: In your experience (from either gender perspective) have dynamics as these - the woman out earning the man (and sorry if that sounds so shallow) been a dating deal breaker..??

Thanks...

VictoriaF

Re: Dating, Gender, & Wealth Differences...

Post by VictoriaF » Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:57 am

How women spend money is probably more important than how much they make or have. If they are accustomed to expensive restaurants, activities, and vacations, you may not be able to keep up with them. The best way to find out is to meet with the women you like and take it from there.

Victoria
Last edited by VictoriaF on Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
WINNER of the 2015 Boglehead Contest. | Every joke has a bit of a joke. ... The rest is the truth. (Marat F)

RNJ

Post by RNJ » Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:58 am

Had I taken your tack, I would have foregone a wonderful marriage and children. Best advice I can offer: GET OVER IT.

Good luck!

August