Wanting to spend money all of a sudden

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
southwest_stacker

Wanting to spend money all of a sudden

Post by southwest_stacker »

I consider myself a frugal person.

I am 36, have a paid for house,no debts, good income, and fully fund retirement. I think I am way ahead of the game for our age.

Years ago I bought a sports car and sold it after a year because I did not drive it. It had nothing to do with the cost of it or needing money I just hated seeing it sitting there not being used.

I bought a Harley a few years back and same thing did not ride it so I sold it.

We bought a boat 6 years ago and it has not been in the water ten times. Wife wants to keep it so we have it but we never use it.

After these three things I have stopped buying toys but my income keeps going up and I pretty much live my life like I was a college student or something.

I have been working 80 hour weeks most of this year and have been raking in the money and I have the itch to spend it on something but don't know what. I don't want to buy some toy that never gets used or waste the money but I also am getting burned out on saving because I feel I am almost saving too much. What am I going to need all this money for when I am old if I don't spend anywhere near that now?

Anyone else feel this way?
Atilla

Re: Wanting to spend money all of a sudden

Post by Atilla »

Start buying guns, lots of ammo and go shooting on the weekends. That'll burn up some cash.
Devil's Advocate

Post by Devil's Advocate »

I would spend that money and buy yourself about 40 hrs/week.
My god man you need to enjoy life and quit working so damn much.
DA
mhc

Post by mhc »

Find someone who needs help, and help him. That will be more satisfying than just blowing money. Or find a charity and donate.

Otherwise, take some nice vacations, eat at nicer restaurants, ....
Rupert