Getting lower cable rates by threatening to cancel

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
tadamsmar

Getting lower cable rates by threatening to cancel

Post by tadamsmar »

We have HDTV, phone, and internet on Time Warner. My wife say a friend of her's gets a discount by calling in once a year a threatening to cancel. She wants me to try it, but I have no experience with doing this.

Does anyone here do this?

I suppose I should research an alternative, I think AT&T provides competing service in our area, Cary NC.
dhodson

Re: Getting lower cable rates by threatening to cancel

Post by dhodson »

it does work but not always and you need to be willing to call several times if you dont get the answer you want the first time.

there also needs to be a credible alternative typically and you should see what hot special att or whomever is offering as a comparative deal. you need to know those details so you can say...i really like TW but ATT is offering this special which is pretty much the same thing as what you offer for 1/2 the price. they know what their competition offers.

finally sometimes you actually have to be willing to cancel and restart a few months later to get the best deals. this wouldnt be worth it for me.
lwfitzge

Post by lwfitzge »

The approach that has worked for me w DirectTV is to call to eliminate a package or service when the sign-up/switch promotions ended. I've done this a couple times and received extended credits for 3-6 months.
pennstater2005

Post by pennstater2005 »