withdrawing at age 55..whats penalty free?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
jack1719

withdrawing at age 55..whats penalty free?

Post by jack1719 » Sun Feb 26, 2012 9:11 pm

I work for NY state/Goverment and have a 25/55 defined pension plan...I can fully retire at 55 with just about 60%..

I also have a traditional tax deffered 401K(that the retirement HR booklet says I can withdraw from penalty free at age 55 if I fully retire from service..

I also have a Roth 401K that I have been contributing to for about 2 years(since they began offering it).. would that follow the same stipulation as the tax deffered 401k in regards to penalty free withdrawls at 55?

I also have a Roth IRA..That I am pretty sure is 59 1/2 no matter if I retire from service or not right?

Thanks for listening and the Help :)

Alan S.

Re: withdrawing at age 55..whats penalty free?

Post by Alan S. » Sun Feb 26, 2012 9:44 pm

The age 55 separation from service exception applies to qualified employer plans, but NOT to IRAs of any type. It applies only to the plan sponsored by the firm you are separating from, not to other plan balances with prior employers.

Your Roth 401k is a qualified plan, so the exception applies there also. For example, earnings come out pro rated with contributions, and the exception would avoid the penalty on the taxable portion of any Roth 401k distributions.

Note that you do not actually have to reach 55 when you separate from service. The exception applies if you separate anytime in the calendar year in which you reach 55. So if your birthday is in November, you could leave now and still get the exception.

livesoft

Post by livesoft » Sun Feb 26, 2012 9:48 pm

Could you separate in calendar year when you reach age 57 and still withdraw penalty-free? That is, is it age 55 only and no other ages?
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.

MathWizard