Should most people sell stock this year for lower tax rate?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
tc101

Should most people sell stock this year for lower tax rate?

Post by tc101 » Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:10 pm

Cap gains rates go up next year. For people in lower tax brackets the long term cap gain rate is 0% this year. I know situations vary, but especially for people in the lower brackets, it seems like they should sell all stock funds with gains this year, and then reinvest to have a higher cost basis in the future.

Am I missing anything?
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.

Topic Author
tc101

Re: Should most people sell stock this year for lower tax ra

Post by tc101 » Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:14 pm

. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.

Midpack

Post by Midpack » Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:17 pm

I thought you were mistaken, but I guess it is "next year" now isn't it :lol:. I plan to sell/realize some cap gains by the end of next year if legislation doesn't change rates (not taking a position for or against).
You only live once...

AQ

Post by AQ » Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:19 pm

I guess for those who pays AMT like me, it won't make much difference?

retcaveman

Post by retcaveman » Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:36 pm

One consideration is 0 cap gains rate vs stepped up basis on inherited funds at death. Also, the 0 cap gains for this year is limited to those in the 15% tax bracket, which was $69k in 2011. A cap gain counts toward your AGI, but the tax rate on the gain in the 15% bracket is 0.
"The wants of mortals are containers that can never be filled." (Socrates)

Post by 555 » Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:37 pm