- New investor here - Willing to help out with a quick Q ??

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
YoungBoglehead

- New investor here - Willing to help out with a quick Q ??

Post by YoungBoglehead » Sat Oct 29, 2011 11:35 am

Hi, Just joined. Googled investing forum, this is the first result.

I hope this is in the right section (sorry if not) Im not sure if i'd consider this personal or not.
Anyway, I have a pretty general question and am hoping I can find some people here willing to help a newbie with his first investment!

Background: Age 23, male, steady good paying job
goal: long term investing. 10+ years, ready to ride the waves

I have $ sitting in a bank account earning 0%. I am brand new to investing, but I probably know more than I give myself credit for.
Question:
For an initial investment, I was thinking of putting about 80% of my savings into an index fund following the S&P500

Today (oct 29th) would you guys say its a safe-enough time to get into the market on a stock like the S&P??

Nobody can predict the future but I am not sure how to read the issues going on in greece, also the talks about our debt cieling rising coming soon (i hear) also, the S&P is near its 52 week high.

On the other hand, im in it for long term, and my bank account earns 0%. Any suggestions? like a better place to invest? or a "yes get in now" or "half now" maybe "hold off for a month or 2"

Thank you in advance!! Good forum, glad to be here!
Started investing around 21, joined Bogleheads at 23.

Taylor Larimore
Advisory Board

Getting started.

Post by Taylor Larimore » Sat Oct 29, 2011 1:49 pm

Hi Mason:
I have $ sitting in a bank account earning 0%. I am brand new to investing.
Welcome to the Bogleheads Forum!

Probably the best way to get started on this forum is to use this link in our wiki : Getting Started