the boglehead bias against options

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
world2steven

the boglehead bias against options

Post by world2steven » Fri Apr 08, 2011 9:14 pm

There appears to be a bias against options amoung Bogleheads. I'm assuming the argument is that buying or even selling options is gambling - not investing. Given all the crooked accounting, the financial suicide being committed by US and other firms in outsourcing - and thus impoverishing their employees, etc, I would argue that it is no longer possible to 'invest', at least without the safety offered by using options to hedge.

I'm not even sure at least selling them reduces your returns. I have limited experience but so far it looks like if you sell out-of-the-money calls and the underlying security increases in value, you can buy the call back in for a small fraction of the increase - and then turn around and sell another out-of-the-money call. True, if you guess right - and that's what it is, a guess, you get to keep it all if you don't mess with options. But in my book that's gambling, not investing. And if you really want to cover your bases, you can use the proceeds from a covered call write to purchase a put.

This, I believe, is hedging and it has made a lot of people a lot of money recently. What am I missing?

exeunt

Post by exeunt » Fri Apr 08, 2011 9:18 pm

Few people understand options. And those who do rarely use them as long-term investments or risk-control tools, but rather as ways to gain leverage and speculate.

I think it's telling that you mention options have "made a lot of people a lot of money recently", which suggests you have more of a speculator's personality. I could just as justifiably say that options lost a lot of money for a lot of people, because the options market is a zero-sum game.

Topic Author
world2steven

who's the speculator?

Post by world2steven » Fri Apr 08, 2011 9:32 pm