Arithmetic Returns vs. Geometric Returns

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
jyun

Arithmetic Returns vs. Geometric Returns

Post by jyun »

At the age of 40, I have been investing for about 5 years. Initially, I focused on individual stocks, but now I hold 100% in the S&P 500. Recently, I came across an interesting topic about Arithmetic Returns vs. Geometric Returns (the idea that high returns with high volatility are risky). I found an intriguing article stating that even with an average annual return of 25%, high volatility could result in the principal remaining the same as it was 5 years ago. I find this concept difficult to understand. Has anyone in the Bogleheads community experienced something similar? Additionally, what advice can I share with friends who only pursue high returns?

https://financetrain.com/arithmetic-ret ... ic-returns
Random Walker

Re: Arithmetic Returns vs. Geometric Returns

Post by Random Walker »

The issue is termed “volatility drag” or “variance drain”. Because of volatility, the compounded or geometric mean return is always less than the arithmetic or simple mean return. An equation approximates the relationship: Ari Mean -0.5* (SD^2) = Geo Mean.