Considering Schwab

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
WhitePuma

Considering Schwab

Post by WhitePuma »

I’m considering transferring existing assets to a new brokerage account at Schwab. Initially, I just plan on transferring and holding a couple mutual fund / ETFs there to see how it goes and whether I like it.

I’ve never used Schwab before. Are there any big negatives or “gotchas” that I should know about?

Also, while I know they typically charge a fee to buy Vanguard mutual funds like VTSAX, do they allow free auto-reinvestment of dividends? I don’t wish to convert to VTI even though I know this question would go away if I did.
student

Re: Considering Schwab

Post by student »

Their settlement fund does not have a competitive interest rate.
lostcoast2023

Post by lostcoast2023 »

I was a happy Schwab customer for many years. Here are my main issues with them (that are not problems at Fidelity):
  • Payment for Order Flow
  • ATM Rebates at end of month
  • Low Interest Rates on idle cash
  • No Fractional Shares on ETFs
  • Credit card is Amex and less than 2%
  • Slow ACH
  • Slow Dividend Payments
That said, if you don't care about these things, they are excellent to work with.
Topic Author
WhitePuma

Post by WhitePuma »

lostcoast2023 wrote: Thu Apr 18, 2024 10:38 am I was a happy Schwab customer for many years. Here are my main issues with them (that are not problems at Fidelity):
  • Payment for Order Flow
  • Slow ACH
  • Slow Dividend Payments
That said, if you don't care about these things, they are excellent to work with.
Thanks for sharing this list. They are definitely marks against Schwab in my book too. But on the plus side, it sounds like if I were to just move a mutual fund (like VTSAX) over and hold it, none of these would apply— is that a correct interpretation?
samsoes

Post by samsoes »

WhitePuma wrote: Thu Apr 18, 2024 11:23 am