Who is buying bonds?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
adave

Who is buying bonds?

Post by adave »

Currently 95% equity and 5% cash in MMF. Thinking about switching to 90% Equity and 10% BND, minimal cash.

Take a few chips off the table. BND provides some income also. BND seems out of favor but looks respectable to me.

I'm no expert however.
familythriftmd

Re: Who is buying bonds?

Post by familythriftmd »

adave wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 4:42 pm Currently 95% equity and 5% cash in MMF. Thinking about switching to 90% Equity and 10% BND, minimal cash.

Take a few chips off the table. BND provides some income also. BND seems out of favor but looks respectable to me.

I'm no expert however.
I use MMF to bolster my EF rather than using bonds.
familythriftmd

Post by familythriftmd »

To add to the above, you could see that bonds in the short term CAN drop a bit, as seen in 2022, so I think of it more for stock kind-of-non-correlation than for EF equivalent.
Topic Author
adave

Post by adave »

Rates have likely peaked however for this cycle. BND on sale.

If I were ever to consider bonds now would be a good time.

Staying 95% equity when managing a large portfolio might be unnecessary risk. But 90% equity is no joke as well.
Hacksawdave

Post by Hacksawdave »

The per share distribution from bond funds has been moving higher for the last 18 months with VBTIX (Institutional class MF of BND) by over 34%. I still reinvest my 401k shares. I did add an additional $56K of CA tax-exempt longs VCLAX back on December 12th of last year to my existing position.
Onlineid3089

Post by Onlineid3089 »

I guess we buy some every other week via our target date funds in our 401k and 457b. :beer
billthecat

Post by billthecat »

I buy some every two weeks through my pre-tax 401K contribution.
We cannot direct the winds but we can adjust our sails • It's later than you think • Ack! Thbbft!
Logan Roy