Russell 1000 Equal Weight Index

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
Gaston

Russell 1000 Equal Weight Index

Post by Gaston »

I am not a proponent of equal weight indices, but I stumbled across the Russell 1000 Equal Weight Index and found it interesting that this index calculates its equal weights in two stages. As described in the attached fact sheet: "Rather than simply assigning an equal weight to each constituent of the index, Russell's industry equal weight index methodology equally weights each industry within the index, and then equally weights the companies within each industry."

As the fact sheet also notes, over the last 5 years (yes, I know, not a very long horizon) the Equal Weight index has underperformed the Russell 1000 capitalization-weighted index.

https://research.ftserussell.com/Analyt ... d1417b.pdf
alex_686

Re: Russell 1000 Equal Weight Index

Post by alex_686 »

Gaston wrote: Thu Aug 04, 2022 8:59 am As the fact sheet also notes, over the last 5 years (yes, I know, not a very long horizon) the Equal Weight index has underperformed the Russell 1000 capitalization-weighted index.
I would put zero weight on the information in the last sentence. Two different indexes generate different returns over a arbitrary time period. Is this due to the poor construction of the index, luck, randomness, specific situations, riskiness, etc. Now, I have a pretty low opinion of equally weighted indexes since I find the underlying theory to be lacking.
Former brokerage operations & mutual fund accountant. I hate risk, which is why I study and embrace it.
Taylor Larimore
Advisory Board

Post by Taylor Larimore »