Berkshire Hathaway vs VTI

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
Gaston

Berkshire Hathaway vs VTI

Post by Gaston »

I recently read that Berkshire Hathaway’s phenomenal performance stemmed from its early years, and that in recent decades it has slightly lagged a total market index. That sounded odd to me, so I thought I’d check it out.

I am not an expert with Portfolio Visualizer (PV), and I might have messed it up. But I compared BRK.B against VTI over 30 years, from 1992 thru 2021, and VTI produced the greater return.

Can someone more proficient with PV confirm whether this is the case? Thx.
Makefile

Re: Berkshire Hathaway vs VTI

Post by Makefile »

VTI has not existed that long. Try VTSMX in its place.
fwellimort

Post by fwellimort »

If you want fast numbers for end of year 2020: https://berkshirehathaway.com/2020ar/2020ar.pdf
Head to page 4.

Other than that, if you want to check in portfolio visualizer, you can use VTSAX or VTSMX.
Topic Author
Gaston

Post by Gaston »

fwellimort wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 7:51 pm If you want to check in portfolio visualizer, you can use VTSAX or VTSMX.
Thx. Over 30 years BRK.B beats VTSAX. But over the last 10 years and the last 20 years, VTSAX comes out ahead. So maybe the article I read is correct.
Fat Tails

Post by Fat Tails »

In a tax-deferred account I’d go with VTI. I have BRK.B in a taxable account because it is very tax efficient (no dividends, not sure about capital gains, but I don’t recall any). If you want dividend income, then perhaps you want VTI in taxable.

Cheers.
“Doing well with money has little to do with how smart you are and a lot to do with how you behave.” - Morgan Housel
mikeyzito22

Post by mikeyzito22 »

Gaston wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 8:00 pm
fwellimort wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 7:51 pm If you want to check in portfolio visualizer, you can use VTSAX or VTSMX.