Two things I don't understand about TIPS

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
tc101

Two things I don't understand about TIPS

Post by tc101 »

Two things I don't understand about TIPS:

1) Inflation is 7% and I-bonds are yielding 7%. Why don't TIPS yield 7% ??

2) People here often say that TIPS protect against "unexpected" inflation. Why is this? Why don't they protect against all inflation?
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.
mas

Re: Two things I don't understand about TIPS

Post by mas »

https://www.treasury.gov/resource-cente ... =realyield

1) 10 yr TIPS are yielding -0.79% (real), so with 7% inflation payouts you would get 6.21%. The difference from I-bonds is that there is heavy demand for TIPS in the market and people bid up the price (and lower the yield). I-bonds have no secondary market and purchase limits.

2) They DO protect against expected inflation in the sense that they pay out based on the full CPI. When people make statements like "protecting against unexpected inflation" it is really just semantics, but the market adjusts the current price/yield based on investor expectations and availability of alternate (nominal treasury bonds) investment choices.
vtMaps

Post by vtMaps »

tc101 wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 1:16 pm Two things I don't understand about TIPS:

2) People here often say that TIPS protect against "unexpected" inflation. Why is this? Why don't they protect against all inflation?
The value of the TIPS bond does go up 7%. The coupon does not go up 7%, it is fixed for the life of the bond.

If inflation is as expected, nominal and TIPS bonds will pay similar overall yields. If unexpected inflation comes along, then TIPS will be a better investment.

--vtMaps
"Truly, whoever can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities" --Voltaire, as translated by Norman Lewis Torrey
dbr

Post by dbr »