The bubble that wasn't?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
scot

The bubble that wasn't?

Post by scot »

I'm new to the investment game and in my first three years in the market there have been some interesting situations going on. There are multiple posts here and on other forums recently about the bubble that is bound to pop any day. Dry powder ready folks etc.

So my question for the veterans is, can you provide insight to some bubbles that weren't actual bubbles and the market kept on trucking its 7% average?
sailaway

Re: The bubble that wasn't?

Post by sailaway »

scot wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 4:08 pm I'm new to the investment game and in my first three years in the market there have been some interesting situations going on. There are multiple posts here and on other forums recently about the bubble that is bound to pop any day. Dry powder ready folks etc.

So my question for the veterans is, can you provide insight to some bubbles that weren't actual bubbles and the market kept on trucking its 7% average?
No one knows anything. I was convinced that there was a housing bubble at least back to 2005. If anyone had acted on that so long before the actual burst, they would probably have been quite sad.
SnowBog

Post by SnowBog »

The market will eventually crash. No one can tell you if that will be tomorrow, next money, next year, or many years from now.

So you want to tune out the noise and focus on the long term. And over the long term, a well balanced investment will do just fine - even if the market crashes.

If it helps, meet Bob - the worlds worst market timer - who only invested right at the peak of the markets before they plummeted in prior crashes. https://thereformedbroker.com/2020/12/2 ... ket-timer/ They came through just fine - and if you can stay the course - you will as well.
GoldenFinch

Post by GoldenFinch »