Is the sky really falling?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
EDM

Is the sky really falling?

Post by EDM »

Premise: The Dow below 8,000 is cheap; I was asleep at the switch when it ran down to the mid-6000s. Taking the long view, however, and based on my life experience, a price/earnings composite of 10:1 imputes a conservative risk level. Here's why:

I am a retired CPA/attorney/farmer looking out my window at Illinois farmland on the IL/WI state line. The springs are running, but it's 30 degrees and the ground is still plastic frozen. The bean stubble shows the injection rows where my tenant applied $220 per acre of N, P, and K last November for this year's corn, as against $150 per acre cash rent paid. Within a month the corn will be planted and the beans next. Farmers need fuel and bug spray and herbicides produced by American industry in the short run, and new machinery in the long run. American agriculture, be it suppliers or producers, will meet the need without regard to the ups and downs of the stock markets.

Likewise shoppers will keep buying groceries and clothing and, on the pecking order of importance, will surely have their conversion boxes hooked up to the few TV's that aren't already on cable or dish. And they will drive to work and WalMart and essentially maintain their lifestyle, notwithstanding the selective negativity of the mass-hysteric media. Life will go on...and is going on.