American citizen abroad and under FEIE- IRA contribution possible?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
canrun

American citizen abroad and under FEIE- IRA contribution possible?

Post by canrun »

Hi all,

I'm a long-term resident of China and make below the $108,700 FEIE. I have no US-earned income. I am under the impression that it is not possible to contribute to an IRA of any kind (Roth or Traditional) if all income is excluded. However, several colleagues have said they have successfully funded a Traditional IRA while well under the FEIE. So, I'm not sure what the correct answer is in terms of overseas residents funding an IRA. Any help is much appreciated. Thanks. :happy
crre

Re: American citizen abroad and under FEIE- IRA contribution possible?

Post by crre »

i believe if you take the foreign tax credit instead of the foreign earned income exclusion you can fund an ira. whether or not this is a good idea is another story. depends how much you are taxed in china, whether or not you plan to still be in china when you retire, etc. etc.
Topic Author
canrun

Post by canrun »

I'd like to follow up with what a fellow American citizen here in China told me today.