how does PCFIX (pimco's small cap value) compare to VTWV?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
asheman

how does PCFIX (pimco's small cap value) compare to VTWV?

Post by asheman »

I've been investing with Vanguard for many years, but this is my first post on this site.

I was wondering if someone might be able to provide some insight into how the theoretical performance of PCFIX (pimco's small cap value Russell fund) https://www.pimco.com/en-us/investments ... -fund/inst - might compare to VTWV (Vanguard's small cap value Russell ETF) https://investor.vanguard.com/etf/profile/VTWV

PCFIX has outperformed VTWV, on average, over the course of PCFIX's inception in 2011 (a very small sample size).

-- Will PCFIX's performance relative to VTWV be solely due to the performance of PCFIX's managers?

-- Is there an impact of the bond component of this fund that will theoretically cause PCFIX to rise by a relatively larger percentage, all else equal, when VTWV is rising (and vice versa)? Does this work as leverage, similar to PSLDX?

-- Will PCFIX underperform VTWV, all else equal, when interest rates are rising (and vice versa)?

-- Is it not possible to model PCFIX prior to its 2011 inception because it's a managed fund?

I am wondering if PCFIX (which has a $25k minimum and a much larger expense ratio) may be a good replacement for the VIOV component of my IRA.

Thanks in advance for any help.
Mark
Pandemic Bangs

Re: how does PCFIX (pimco's small cap value) compare to VTWV?

Post by Pandemic Bangs »

Welcome! Apples and oranges, I think.

The PIMCO is mostly mid-cap growth plus some bond component with ER 0.8 and ~ $0.8B in assets, with leverage and active management.

The Vanguard is small-cap value index (98% small-cap) with ER 0.15 and ~ $0.6B in assets.