Account for slight Roth over-contribution

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
dannyboy

Account for slight Roth over-contribution

Post by dannyboy »

Howdy BH!

Quick question about a minor Roth over-contribution. Here's the background: at my current job, I only have access to a tax-deferred 403(b). Since I am a young student with relatively low income, I have been trying to prioritize filling Roth space (beyond my Roth IRA). Because I technically qualify as having been "affected" by CoVID, I have followed this CARES Act-enabled approach since August: every paycheck, I contribute a set amount to my 403(b). Immediately, I request a CARES Act distribution for that entire amount. Directly after I submit that request, well before the custodian has processed it, I "repay" that exact amount into my Roth IRA as a "plan rollover," as permitted by the CARES Act (repayments are allowed into eligible retirement plans). About ten days later, I receive a check for the full amount from my 403(b) custodian, and the transaction is complete. I do not withhold taxes but I expect to pay them, albeit at a low marginal rate. I spent a lot of time devising this methodology to get money into my Roth as efficiently as possible, and a couple posters here backed this up as a viable solution.