Are you a Boglehead?

US Local Chapters, Wiki, and general Bogleheads community discussion, news, events, and announcements.
Topic Author
PackersFan12

Are you a Boglehead?

Post by PackersFan12 »

Are you? Why or why not?
whodidntante

Re: Are you a Boglehead?

Post by whodidntante »

I think so, but it depends on who's defining it. Jack Bogle himself didn't meet the criteria that some ascribe to Bogleheadism.
FIREchief

Post by FIREchief »

Probably. That said, I was LBYM investor in low cost domestic equity index funds for over 20 years before I found this forum. 8-)

During that time, I was 100% equities, which would likely disqualify me for "Bogelhead" good standing status. :P
I am not a lawyer, accountant or financial advisor. Any advice or suggestions that I may provide shall be considered for entertainment purposes only.
Wanderingwheelz

Post by Wanderingwheelz »

FIREchief wrote: Sat Nov 21, 2020 5:32 pm Probably. That said, I was LBYM investor in low cost domestic equity index funds for over 20 years before I found this forum. 8-)

During that time, I was 100% equities, which would likely disqualify me for "Bogelhead" good standing status. :P
Lots of Bogleheads are 100% equities with their investable assets through the accumulation phase. Nothing wrong with that- in fact, if you can handle the big swings that’s the best way to get through the early years of building wealth since it’s dollar cost averaging earned income over two or three decades.

I think I’m a Boglehead, but I don’t do everything “by the Boglehead book” since for example I have a big part of my bond allocation in our joint brokerage account, and it’s BND, not munis. Bogleheads would say to use up all of the space In tax deferred accounts first, but my wife and I sleep better at night knowing we aren’t 100% equities with the money we’ll use as the bridge to SS and RMDs.
Last edited by Wanderingwheelz on Sat Nov 21, 2020 5:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
livesoft

Post by livesoft »