Bond alternatives

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
jay22

Bond alternatives

Post by jay22 »

Let me preface this post with this: I am no expert on bonds and have them in my portfolio (15% all invested in Intermediate-Term Bond ETF) for better risk-adjusted returns and because. But, with the low-interest environment now (which are unlikely to go up in the next few years), are folks here thinking of alternatives to bonds? Cash, CDs? There doesn't seem to be a good answer here that would beat inflation and provide a decent yield. I recently heard a podcast where Malkiel suggested that a dividend ETF with blue-chip funds might be an alternative to look at. Thoughts?
Elysium

Re: Bond alternatives

Post by Elysium »

jay22 wrote: Sat Oct 10, 2020 6:42 pm Let me preface this post with this: I am no expert on bonds and have them in my portfolio (15% all invested in Intermediate-Term Bond ETF) for better risk-adjusted returns and because. But, with the low-interest environment now (which are unlikely to go up in the next few years), are folks here thinking of alternatives to bonds? Cash, CDs? There doesn't seem to be a good answer here that would beat inflation and provide a decent yield. I recently heard a podcast where Malkiel suggested that a dividend ETF with blue-chip funds might be an alternative to look at. Thoughts?