What did your accounts look like in your 30's?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
Frugalbear

What did your accounts look like in your 30's?

Post by Frugalbear »

What did your pretax and post tax accounts look like in your 30's?

Did you feel like you were ahead of the game or behind the 8 ball?
MNGopher

Re: What did your accounts look like in your 30's?

Post by MNGopher »

Mine were nonexistent until my later 30's. Any extra income in my early 30's went towards paying down my mortgage, because at that time I only had terrible high priced annuity products in my employer plan.
student

Post by student »

Poor. I did not have a "real" job until I was 31. Before that I was a student and a postdoc.
9mm

Post by 9mm »

Frugalbear wrote: Wed Sep 23, 2020 9:09 pm What did your pretax and post tax accounts look like in your 30's?

In general having 2X to 3X your annual income invested by age 30 is pretty good. If you’re above that you are probably a high income earner or good saver. If you are below that you probably have some catching up to do.

I am in my early 30s and have $900,000 invested, but I make quite a bit and invest over half my income every year. It’s not about comparing yourself to others, it’s about setting a plan and sticking to it.
stoptothink

Post by stoptothink »

I was in the middle of a divorce (and a PhD) on my 30th birthday, so it started out bad (nearly broke), but my third decade of life will end in 6 months being in the two-comma club (net-worth, not quite there yet on investments alone) and with a paid off home.
Stick5vw

Post by Stick5vw »

Early 30s was a bit messy relative to late 30s - would say I finally got my act together by the time I was 34 or 35.