My boss asked me to build a portfolio

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
MoneyMike82

My boss asked me to build a portfolio

Post by MoneyMike82 »

I'm currently a para planner at a small wealth management firm and I love the work and my boss is the nicest person I've ever met...

I'm currently studying for the 65 and she recently asked me to work with her on putting together a new model. This will be our "dividend fund". She and I have VERY different investment philosophies. I believe in indexing and she doesn't, but she also places a great deal of emphasis on short term (2 or 3 months) performance. Because I know that there's no real skill in picking stocks, I'm perfectly fine to throw darts at a list of dividend stocks, but I'd still have to give a reason to my boss as to why I'm picking them, even though I don't think it matters. Also, I'm not super thrilled with the idea that my picks may not do so well and then my boss will think less of me even though I know it's just random.

I'd love any advice or input other than "go work somewhere else." I've never had a job I really loved until now and it pays great with great benefits.
Cam894

Re: My boss asked me to build a portfolio

Post by Cam894 »

MoneyMike82 wrote: Tue Sep 08, 2020 7:02 pm I'm currently a para planner at a small wealth management firm and I love the work and my boss is the nicest person I've ever met...