Home Equity & Asset Allocation

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
SPX4me

Home Equity & Asset Allocation

Post by SPX4me »

Hi all, I’m new to the forum, and have enjoyed everything I’ve read thus far. Apologies if my question has been answered dozens of times already, or if I’m posting this in the wrong area. (While I’m new to the forum and haven’t spent much time studying asset allocation, I am not new to the stock market. I’ve been investing for many years, and my career involves following the market on a daily basis.)

My question is how you think about home equity in the context of asset allocation (be it 80/20 or otherwise). I paid off my house last year, and it is now a significant portion of my net worth. After paying it off, I increased the amount of my exposure to the stock market as well. On one hand, I feel I’m aggressive with a significant portion of my liquid assets concentrated in one index (S&P 500). On the other hand, almost half my net worth is in my home, which should reduce the volatility of my aggregate net worth.

My net worth approximately breaks down as:
  • 45% home equity (fully paid off, no mortgage)
  • 45% stock (about half from 401k and half from taxable accounts, essentially all in S&P 500)
  • 10% cash (18 months of expenses)
Part of why I’m asking is that I’m considering reducing my cash holding further. (The thread on whether Emergency Funds are necessary was a good read.) I know that risk tolerance varies by individual, but I'm trying to get a sense of where I am on the spectrum.

Thanks all,
SPX4me
sport

Re: Home Equity & Asset Allocation

Post by sport »

Welcome to the forum.