Changing how the Fed views inflation

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
perfectuncertainty

Changing how the Fed views inflation

Post by perfectuncertainty »

https://www.cnbc.com/2020/08/24/powell- ... ation.html

What do you expect to come out of this meeting/announcement?
What impact do you expect it to have on the dollar? Interest rates?
FIREchief

Re: Changing how the Fed views inflation

Post by FIREchief »

Yikes!!! I guess I had better move ALL of my fixed income to TIPS!

Wait a tick.....I already did! 8-)
I am not a lawyer, accountant or financial advisor. Any advice or suggestions that I may provide shall be considered for entertainment purposes only.
occambogle

Post by occambogle »

Could someone kindly explain what all this means in real terms to future interest rates (especially LTT), equities, the dollar? I read the article but I don’t really understand the implications...
Robot Monster

Post by Robot Monster »

perfectuncertainty wrote: Mon Aug 24, 2020 4:47 pm https://www.cnbc.com/2020/08/24/powell- ... ation.html

I expect Powell will announce "2%-average inflation” targeting. This means interest rates are more likely to stay in the gutter for longer. If inflation bubbles up 2.5%, the Fed hawks will not necessarily be taking flight and raising rates (that is, if inflation had previously been trapped at 1.5%). With unemployment what it is, and the specter of Japanification haunting the Fed, it just might be a mighty long time, yes, a mighty long time indeed, before we see those rates rising. Still, bound to happen, one day. A dusty black Cadillac will pull into town. A man wearing a fedora hat will step out. He'll seem rather familiar somehow, and yet no one will be able to say quite who he is. He'll order a Whiskey Sour at the local saloon, and give the bartender a strange kind of smile.