How did you determine risk tolerance?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
MissHavisham

How did you determine risk tolerance?

Post by MissHavisham » Fri Jul 24, 2020 8:24 pm

Dear Bogleheads,

I'm a beginner and new to investing. This will be my first experience as an investor during a Presidential Election year. If the philosophy is to stay the course and hold steadfast, how do you actually do that during a Presidential Election year? or during any other turbulence? I would love to hear your past experiences, what happened to your portfolio and how you handled your emotions. Looking for some wisdom. I read a thread where people said they would read over their Investment Policy Statement.

Also, In January of this year I had $25,000 and due to Covid it dropped to $13,500. Now it's back up. They say smooth seas never make a skilled sailor. Am I a sailor now? Was COVID a big enough experience for anyone? For high net worth people, does losing $100,000's feel the same way as losing +/-?

I've heard all about the "dot come era" and "housing crisis" but didn't have skin in the game. I want to condition myself to not listen to the noise, but is there a point that one should?

Curious.
Last edited by MissHavisham on Fri Jul 24, 2020 10:32 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Marmot

Re: Presidential Elections: How to stay calm?

Post by Marmot » Fri Jul 24, 2020 8:28 pm

I don't pay attention. Wall street factors it in. I have a percentage set up, I follow it.
Marty....don't go to the year 2020....Dr. Emmett Brown

Normchad

Post by Normchad » Fri Jul 24, 2020 8:30 pm

Never sell. Like ever. Just never,ever, sell.

As a young investor, there is no need to worry here. Anything bad that an happen, is unpredictable by you. But you have more than enough time for it to straighten itself out and recover.