Ray Dalio: ‘you’d be pretty crazy to hold bonds’ right now

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
petilon

Ray Dalio: ‘you’d be pretty crazy to hold bonds’ right now

Post by petilon »

I have been staying away from bonds for over 10 years because it is so confusing. As I understand bond prices fall when interest rates go up as investors unload old bonds to buy newer bonds that bear higher interest rates. Interest rates have been low over the last decade, so why have people been buying bonds over the last decade?

And now this hedge fund manager says you're crazy if you hold bonds right now. (Ray Dalio is founder of Bridgewater Associates, the world’s largest hedge fund): https://www.marketwatch.com/story/billi ... latestnews

So much of my money is sitting in money markets right now. Because bonds are bad right now, and stocks are bad too because the upcoming crash (when poor earnings reports start rolling in) is going to be worse than 2008.

How do retirees avoid eating into principal during times like this?
averagedude

Re: Ray Dalio: ‘you’d be pretty crazy to hold bonds’ right now

Post by averagedude »

Even coming out of the financial crisis, extended duration bonds have been one of the best asset classes over the last 10 years. Not saying I would invest in them now or ever.
kmft

Post by kmft »

Sounds like he's long equities and wants you to hop on and pump them up for him. Do your civic duty and inflate the bubble man!
livesoft

Post by livesoft »

What!?? The bond fund I purchased in the last week of March has gone up over 5.2% in value. Was I crazy?

Also, I actually don't mind spending down my principal. I can't take it with me when I die.
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.
Dave55

Post by Dave55 »