Assessing my investment strategy / managing emotions during the dip

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
future_endo

Assessing my investment strategy / managing emotions during the dip

Post by future_endo » Wed Mar 25, 2020 2:50 pm

Hey guys,

Wondering if I could get your thoughts on investing during the dip. Newbie investor here. I set up my solo 401K recently and have $8.5K ready to put in to VTI (Vanguard Total Stock Market ETF). I have read it is more lucrative to put money into individual stocks at this time, but I'm still learning the ropes and want to tread on the safer side with index funds for now. The thing is, I am second-guessing myself about when and how much to buy - I think I am chasing the bottom with my current strategy, which I have read to not do. Right now, VTI is trading at about 76% of its peak. I have put limit orders for 72%, 62%, & 52% - all orders being 1/3 of my capital.

The stingy part of me wants the best deal I can get, and this is why I have set the orders in this way. However, another part of me feels like I should just set a limit order at something reasonable (70%? - which is already a nice discount! And I'm fairly certain that at some point during the next weeks it will fall back there) for the entirety of the $8.5K. After all, I am investing for the long-term and it seems better to just get something into the market when it's down rather than miss the opportunity entirely.

Do you guys have any feedback on my thought processes? What is your own investment strategy during this market? Is it irrelevant to think about what the bottom is, being that no one can predict the bottom?

Any words offered are much appreciated, thank you!

SanAntionetta

Re: Assessing my investment strategy / managing emotions during the dip

Post by SanAntionetta » Wed Mar 25, 2020 3:01 pm