Resources to understand bonds

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
Dawg11

Resources to understand bonds

Post by Dawg11 » Wed Mar 25, 2020 9:53 am

I am a novice investor who’d always been under the presumption that bonds were a way to “smooth the ride” (in the words of JL Collins) in an economic downturn. With the recent events, I’m not so sure that this is the case.

What books out there would one recommend to help one gain a thorough understanding of diff types of bonds, treasuries, etc.?

bloom2708

Re: Resources to understand bonds

Post by bloom2708 » Wed Mar 25, 2020 1:29 pm

Have you read the Wiki on bonds?

https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Outline_of_bonds

Start there before a book.

Even if certain bonds don't behave exactly the same when under stress, they are less risky than stocks. Not zero risk.

Municipal bonds have been highlighted recently. Some funds have been down 8% or more. Bad (for bonds), but not like ~25-30% down for stocks.
Last edited by bloom2708 on Wed Mar 25, 2020 2:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"We are here to provoke thoughtfulness, not agree with you." Unknown Boglehead

alex_686

Post by alex_686 » Wed Mar 25, 2020 1:51 pm

The Handbook of Fixed Income Securities by Frank Fabozzi is the book on the subject.

On a more serious note - how deep do you want to dig? The above book is great but it is 1,700 pages long. Maybe not what you are looking for.

And yes, people here at Bogleheads says it is to smooth the ride. I don't like that particular over-simplification.

dratkinson

Post by dratkinson » Wed Mar 25, 2020 2:37 pm

+1
--Read Wiki on bonds.
--Read several Wiki-recommended bond books (+ Thau's "The Bond Book", if it's missing from listing).

These books will teach you to avoid bad bonds. But you still must decide which of the other more acceptable bonds are "within reason" for your situation.