all value portfolio to gain better returns per Paul Merriman?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
$questions

all value portfolio to gain better returns per Paul Merriman?

Post by $questions » Mon Mar 23, 2020 8:17 am

Hi all,

I'm new to investing...

Any credence to Paul Merriman's approach that an all value portfolio will offer considerably better returns than a total market or s&p index?

https://paulmerriman.com/best-in-class- ... lios-2019/

I trust that you all know much more about this stuff than me....:)

TIA

theorist

Re: all value portfolio to gain better returns per Paul Merriman?

Post by theorist » Mon Mar 23, 2020 8:36 am

There is an idea that beaten up companies in unfashionable areas can be systematically undervalued. People don’t expect much from them, so their shares lose less value on bad news, but increase more when there is an upside surprise. Investing in these companies is called “value investing.” It was made famous by Ben Graham and a modern adherent, in the early part of his career at least, was Warren Buffett.

This word idea turns into a quantitative scheme by purchasing stocks with low price to book or price to earnings ratio. Typically the high flying growth stocks are bid up by expectations of large future earnings going out many years; value stocks are valued for immediately visible future earnings and trade at lower P/B and P/E ratios.

This general idea finds its modern expression in the theory of “factors” ala Fama and French, explained nicely in e.g. this book

https://www.amazon.com/Your-Complete-Gu ... oks&sr=1-3

You can find a large number of discussions of Fama French and factors on this site.

Other factors include size, quality, etc. The combination of size and value factors leads to Merriman’s emphasis on “small value” in many of his portfolios and podcasts.