Risks of investing in new ETFs?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
silviabarros

Risks of investing in new ETFs?

Post by silviabarros » Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:26 pm

Hello everyone!

I am very new in investing and recently started investing my savings in ETFs. I am currently looking for ETFs that do not include businesses involving weapons.

I found a few that look good but they are new - they started in January 2019 or January 2018. Because they are so new I am not sure how to evaluate their performance.

Which parameters should I look at to be sure the ETF has enough investors to go on and that tell me how good it is? How can I be sure I'll be able to sell it when the time comes?

I've been looking at the number of holdings (I would say >300 is good?), the companies (whether they are big or not), the involved countries and the total return (but only have 1 year of data here). Am I on the right track?

Thanks!

grabiner
Advisory Board

Re: Risks of investing in new ETFs?

Post by grabiner » Wed Feb 12, 2020 11:58 pm

Welcome to the forum!

You can usually assume that any index ETF from an established provider will track its index minus expenses. (You can confirm this from the performance numbers; if an ETF has 0.5% expenses, and the annualized return of its index was 5%, the ETF should have an annualized return close to 4.5%.) Past performance, whether of the ETF or of the index it tracks, is not particularly relevant; the fact that US stocks outperformed foreign stocks in recent years doesn't tell you anything about whether US or foreign stocks will do better in the future.

Expenses are important because they reduce your returns; if your ETF holds stocks which return 5%, you will get a 4.9% return if the ETF charges 0.1% expenses, but a 4% return if the ETF charges 1% expenses.