Personal Capital / Investment Tools

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
mowill74

Personal Capital / Investment Tools

Post by mowill74 » Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:37 pm

Is anyone using Personal Capital and their free investment tools? If so, any thoughts or advice on their free tools? If not, does anyone know of any comparable tools?

cogito

Re: Personal Capital / Investment Tools

Post by cogito » Tue Jan 14, 2020 3:32 pm

I've been using them for three years, and have found them to be the best in the space for ease-of-use and convenience. Far better than Mint, even just for personal finance. Sometimes their investment tools don't allocate your categories properly, but you can fix it manually. They'll call you once in a while, which is annoying, but I've blocked their number and now it just goes to voicemail.

Some posters here get worked up about security, but its the 21st century and I'll take my chances. I'll continue to use indefinitely, unless they really get pressure from the VC's to turn on the money spigot, and start ratcheting up the annoyances with more calls or less features.

renegade06

Post by renegade06 » Tue Jan 14, 2020 7:14 pm

I just started using Personal Capital and I think is (by far) the best tool to get a comprehensive financial picture. It really helped me better understand where my money is allocated. I did get the call to schedule a meeting with an advisor. I had a call with them to give them a fair shot but do not intend to use their service. Their strategy (at least for me) is own 120 stocks and then hold a variety of sectors each weighted at 10%. These would be invested in low cost ETFs. I highly recommend using their free tools... I have too imagine they will start charging for it at some point.

bloom2708

Post by bloom2708 » Tue Jan 14, 2020 7:46 pm

5 years with the software from PC. Very happy.

I link everything. Use 2 factor and a strong password.