Minimum investment to buy mutual funds

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
wyoming82240

Minimum investment to buy mutual funds

Post by wyoming82240 » Sun Jan 12, 2020 1:17 am

Hello Bogleheads,

As a beginner in investing around 2015, I struggled a lot to invest as most mutual funds have minimum investment ranging from 2500 to 3000. As an amateur I was not familiar with ETFs at that time. What’s the idea or thought process behind the fund companies to have minimum initial investments to buy a mutual fund? These days gradually fund companies are decreasing or eliminating the minimums to invest. If there are any benefits to have such minimum initial investment, how are they able to decrease or eliminate them now? Just curious, why investment companies had created such barriers to invest for people with low income.

Re: Minimum investment to buy mutual funds

Post by 123 » Sun Jan 12, 2020 1:37 am

Minimum investments in mutual funds were likely initially established to control administrative costs. Establishing accounts was initially a very manual paper process that involved staff effort whereas now it can be self-service via a browser. There were additional costs on an ongoing basis to handle additional deposits as well as mail periodic statements. Now statements can be sent via email. Funds that were sold with loads wanted to have a minimum that would ensure financial advisers would want to sell the fund.

Prior to large advances in brokerage automation many funds could only be purchased or sold directly with the fund. If an investor wanted to change funds it was necessary to sell one fund, receive the proceeds, deposit the proceeds, and then mail a check to the replacement fund for the amount desired. Now mutual funds can be easily held in brokerage accounts making their purchase, holding, and sale much easier.
The closest helping hand is at the end of your own arm.

Ferdinand2014