Now is a good time to start tracking your net worth.

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
Watty

Now is a good time to start tracking your net worth.

Post by Watty » Wed Jan 01, 2020 7:09 pm

If you are not already tracking your net worth now is a good time to start tracking it.

I have a very simple spreadsheet that I update each year on January 1st and I have been doing this for 16 years now.

It only takes me about 15 minutes to enter my account balances, any debts, and estimates of things like my house and car values.

This really helps me to see my progress over the years and at least for me only doing it once a year really helps me avoid the noise of seeing it more frequently.

I also go over this with my wife to make sure that she knows the current situation and this is important since I normally do most of the finances in out household.

Jimmie

Re: Now is a good time to start tracking your net worth.

Post by Jimmie » Wed Jan 01, 2020 7:25 pm

Watty wrote:
Wed Jan 01, 2020 7:09 pm
If you are not already tracking your net worth now is a good time to start tracking it.

I have a very simple spreadsheet that I update each year on January 1st and I have been doing this for 16 years now.

It only takes me about 15 minutes to enter my account balances, any debts, and estimates of things like my house and car values.

This really helps me to see my progress over the years and at least for me only doing it once a year really helps me avoid the noise of seeing it more frequently.

I also go over this with my wife to make sure that she knows the current situation and this is important since I normally do most of the finances in out household.
I do all this, except the part where I go over the details with your wife, since we've never met. :D