Charles Schwab Referral Bonus - Really Need to Keep for a Year?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
Defiance

Charles Schwab Referral Bonus - Really Need to Keep for a Year?

Post by Defiance » Sun Oct 27, 2019 10:17 pm

So I recently opened a CS account and deposited basically my life savings into it: ~$25k. (I'm a grad student, so yeah..) The reason for this deposit is because I got a referral bonus of $200 for depositing between $25k - $50k. My original intention after receiving this bonus was to then move the majority of my money back into my high-yield savings account at Vio Bank. However, I recently read that it is suggested to keep the net deposit in my CS account for up to a year, or else CS might remove my $200 bonus.

I realize the incentive here is to invest my money, and then hopefully it will grow past the 2.3% APY that Vio Bank currently offers. However, I have had a pretty bad history with investing -- I've only spent ~$1200k investing, but over the past two years, I've lost over $400. Therefore, I'd rather hold off on that for now, as I would be quite upset if I also lost ~35% on my life's savings.

So, my question is, will CS actually remove my $200 bonus? What if I keep, say, $1500 in the bank -- will CS only remove $100 then? (Between $1k - $24.9k, the bonus is $100.)

(I also want to move my money because I get paranoid that if I lose my debit card, someone can immediately wipe out a lot of my funds. I believe the daily minimum is $1k, but that is still a lot to me. I travel a bit and have almost been pick-pocketed before.)

I hope my concern makes sense. Thank you for your time,

indexfundfan

Re: Charles Schwab Referral Bonus - Really Need to Keep for a Year?

Post by indexfundfan » Sun Oct 27, 2019 10:27 pm

What did the terms of the offer say? If you don't follow the terms to the letter, Schwab could remove the bonus they paid you.
My signature has been deleted.