Tips/suggestions for graduating college students

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
mcbridc4

Tips/suggestions for graduating college students

Post by mcbridc4 » Thu Oct 10, 2019 12:34 pm

Hello!

As an upcoming college graduate, I was wondering, what are the easiest/safest ways to invest in your future and focus on paying off student loan debt at the same time?

Would it be better to focus on paying off that debt first and then jump into investments, or do something more simultaneously?

What were some things you did after you graduated that you found super helpful in paying off debt?

I know all college students would find any tips on this subject useful.

Thank you!

MarkVH0518

Re: Tips/suggestions for graduating college students

Post by MarkVH0518 » Thu Oct 10, 2019 2:54 pm

Congratulations on starting BEFORE you graduate.
You've come to the right place.

The best answer to your question is here:
https://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/inves ... msg1333153

Regards,
Mark

samsoes

Post by samsoes » Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:07 pm

Marry someone really old and really rich. :moneybag
"Happiness Is Not My Companion" - Gen. Gouverneur K. Warren. | (Avatar is the statue of Gen. Warren atop Little Round Top @ Gettysburg National Military Park.)

HomeStretch

Post by HomeStretch » Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:09 pm

Welcome, great time to plan!

1. Get a job
2. Make a budget, live below your means, be a savvy consumer and save 15%+ (pay yourself first).
3. Use your savings first to build an emergency fund in a high yield bank account
4. Apply for a credit card to build credit. Use it wisely, don’t overspend and pay balance in full on time every month. Stay debt free in general (pay cash for cars, etc.)
5. Pay your student loan payment on time. Refinance the student loan(s) to a lower rate, if possible.